A room of one’s own: gliding into the soul


Van Gogh’s Red Vineyard was an important painting for Impressionist outside France, though Monet’s work was the most strongly influential

Dear friends,

Today was a strange day. I woke to hear a wuthering wind — appropriately enough I’ve begun to read Emily Bronte’s Wuthering Heights (in a fine thorough Norton — editions matter), and while I had a little trouble getting into it again, with the help of one of the BBC’s marvelous 1970s serials, I’ve caught its peculiar visionary atmosphere now. Sometimes the wind became a kind of ceaseless roar as if one were in a hurricane with no storm in the center. At the same time all day and night freezing cold as if it were winter out there. Meanwhile the sun shines. Everything in the DC and Northern Virginia and Southern Maryland area has shut down, wide electrical outages (we have been lucky thus far and not lost power), because of the dangerous winds (so it’s said). Climate break-up. We have not begun to imagine the phenomena that lie ahead …


1977-78 BBC Wuthering Heights: the moment of Lockwood’s nightmare where a hand from outside the window grasps his

It takes me a very long time to do something I’ve never done before. I’m not much for change. So I wondered if I would ever sit in that front room I’d wanted for so long. About a week and a half ago, I suddenly began. I tried the experiment of sitting in it after I’ve had my morning bout of posting with friends and on what business I have. I’ve now spent successive afternoons there, quietly reading, away from distractions in cyberspace, with no TV nearby, no radio, no phone in sight. I’ve begun to look forward to my afternoons and (sometimes) early evenings there. I love it. The cats moved in with me (so to speak). They now have a cat bed there, water bowl, dish for treats. They prefer the soft chair: Snuffy turns himself into a doughnut sitting just atop my shoulders and Clary settles down on the thick rug by the oil-filled electric radiator. A drawback is I cannot take notes on what I read because my handwriting has fallen apart and I have not yet taught myself to use the “note” program on my ipad but perhaps it’s all the more rejuvenating for that. I write in the margins and on the blank back and front pages of my book. I began with two afternoons of Poldark reading.

I remembered Jim laughing at me when we got our first dishwasher. It came with the apartment in 1981. For a while I kept cardboard boxes in it as I felt I didn’t know how to use it. Quipped he: “give the poor bathtubs and they’ll keep coal in them.” That was a mocking saying the Tories used in the 1940s to try to stop Atlee’s gov’t from giving subsidies to those who could get up half the amount for renovating their bathrooms. Due to Atlee’s gov’t’s passage of that bill, when Jim was 8 or so, his parents had an extension built on their house with a bathtub and toilet inside the house (in an unheated room) for the first time.


One of the singers at the Folger: we took home all the lyrics

I did have two marvelous experiences last weekend. On Saturday afternoon with a friend I went to Folger to hear and see their spring concert, Il lauro verde. It was quieter than most of their concerts recently, less “flash:” nothing on screen at the back, a more limited set of instruments (though the recorder and tambourine and harpsichord were much in evidence), no “star:” there was a play within a play, and dramatized duets; two singers from Italy, and all was sung in Italian. Nothing amplified falsely, nothing computerized, people playing their instruments. I feared my friend would be bored and was so relieved when she was not. She seemed to love the experience. I said it was like Easter or spring celebrated through themes from nature. By the end my heart was easier than it had been all week, it did my heart and soul good to be there in this non-commercialized quiet place where people played musical instruments with little fanfare, and they sang beautifully to deeply humane touching very delicate songs. Some witty, some erotic, some religious, some this ironic menace. No one a star. When I’m at the Folger and they return to the Renaissance this way I remember why I wanted to major in this material so long ago. Not that the world of early modern Europe was not as treacherous and crazed in many ways as ours.


Roz White in a performance some years back ….

On Sunday Izzy and I returned to the Metrostage where we had participated in a Christmas pantomime and music hall on Boxing Day. The music could not have been more different: it was a one-woman performance, Roz White, an African-American singer doing “A revolutionary cabaret.” A man at the piano, and some minimal props and clothes (hat, shawl). Years ago Jim and I saw a show in a restaurant in Greenwich village with an 80+ year old Alberta Hunter. She was just marvelous. Well Roz White did a couple of hers, two by Nina Simone, Roberta Flack — I had album by her even more years ago that I used to listen to again and again. Each time she imitated the particular singer mildly. They were protest and angry songs, but also songs of hope, witty, wistful, very contemporary. She uplifted and cheered us, exhilarating at moments. I wished it had gone on for longer.


Anna Boch (1848-1936): Dutch impressionist, Cottage in Flanders

This Wednesday I went to the third four (what are turning out to be) informative, insightful lectures (sharp intelligent comments on the painters, paintings) on Wednesday evenings on “Impressionism outside France” by David Gariff, a curator at the National Gallery. Instead of ending early (as is alas typical) he’d go on to 9:30 and later. Who knew there were so many beautiful, interesting varied Impressionist pictures across western Europe. I now realize most people see only a few of what impressionist pictures there are, the same ones over and over by the same artists. We are French centered, and because Americans see some American impressionism, and because we speak English, a few English. This seems to add up to less than fifth of the beauty and interest available. It’s that museums won’t buy these other paintings from other countries (on the basis no one is interested — but then how can they be if they’ve never heard of them).


Vasily Polenov (1844-1927), Russian impressionist: Early Snow

To characterize each country (and say at least ten painters) in a sentence or so is so inadequate but with my stenography so bad nowadays, and his pace so quick (to include a lot), I can do no more. Basically the Russians one are apolitical (no wonder, under such terrorizing regimes) and paint heart-stoppingly beautiful landscapes, often around great houses; the Italians in reverse are highly political (regional, it’s the risorgimento period) and we see realistic urbane scenes where the interest is a real building, real looking people, the culture. Belgium, the Netherlands seemed more contemporary, continually moving beyond impressionism to break-ups of naturalism. Next week impressionism in the UK. He said there is no single book.


It’s been adapted for the stage

My life goes into a different rhythm starting next week. It will be the OLLI at AU Mondays for teaching (leading a study group) on “The Later Virginia Woolf” and Tuesdays attending (a study group) on “The Best of Bronte.” 8 sessions each. My afternoons in my room I’ve reread Woolf’s Flush, Three Guineas, and am now into Between the Acts. The first a brilliant modernist, genuine biography of a dog; the second as necessary to read as Primo Levi’s If this be man and The Truce. I hope I can lead people to like and understand them. I get so aroused inwardly I begin to think next fall I’ll try a course I’ll call The Enlightenment: at risk!, and assign Voltaire’s Candide, Diderot’s The Nun, Johnson’s Life of Savage, and because no woman at the time dared, fast forward to Sontag’s Volcano Lover with brief online texts like Kant’s defining the term “what is the Enlightenment?” Emily’s Wuthering Heights, Anne’s Tenant of Wildfell Hall, and Charlotte’s Jane Eyre. A friend has added to the DVD collection of Bronte movies I gathered when I reviewed a book on “Nineteenth Century Women at the Movies,” two of whose essays were on the Jane Eyre and Wuthering Heights films. A veritable feast of watching I’ve already begun.

Late March I’ll add the OLLI at Mason 8 Wednesdays for teaching Trollope’sHe Knew He Was Right and ‘Journey to Panama'” followed by 8 sessions on how WW1 transformed the world (a mix of unusual films and lectures) and 4 Thursdays the career and songs by Leonard Cohen (music not “to commit suicide by”); I’ve joined their Reston book club (3 sessions far apart) & first up Atwood’s Blind Assassins (I’ve longed to read since someone told me it’s about an older woman — like Drabble’s The Dark Flood Rises), second a favorite, Swift’s Last Orders, and an Americanization of the Booker Prize, Saunders’ Lincoln at the Bardo.

The real news — affecting my life daily — is with the help of a digital expert, I rescued my 3 yahoo lists and they are now at groups.io, and our early verdict is we love our new home. It’s so easy to find postings, photos, links. Everything so clear and works well. I may be loathe to endure change, but when I have to — as Verizon is slowly getting rid of its yahoo parts that don’t yield huge profits — I do. Over the three weeks it has sometimes been stressful, but the (bearded) man who helped me was wonderful. He wrote out instructions step-by-step, literally, only occasionally leaving a step out. I should add (as it’s relevant) in the last 2 weeks the Future Learn course in autism suddenly switched gears and began describing the characteristics of autism thoroughly, and although the woman running never ceased asking her inane, indeed neurotypical question (for she didn’t mean it literally, it was a ploy), by the end she was asking what are the drawbacks for “coming out,” what the advantages (as a group these outweigh silence and erasure, for only then can you hope for help and understanding). I did tell Shal (that is his name) that I think I have Aspergers Syndrome traits, and it was then, he told me his son is Autistic Level 2, and he began to help me in earnest.


This soft cat toy is something like the one I left with Vivian

Not all good. In most lives some Acid rain must fall. I saw my friend, Vivian, for the last time. I drove to Bethesda, Maryland, found the assisted living facility her sibling have placed her in where she is having excellent kind (it seems) hospice care. Her life is over, drugged, controlled by her sister, I can’t reach her where she used to live as the sister as deliberately put herself in the way (telling me what I could and could not say before I was allowed in) and I could see when Vivian began to talk of her “issues” (her cover-up term for Aspergers), the sister grew impatient and changed the subject. I left by Vivian’s side a small soft toy cat, grey, with blue eyes, I’ve had for ever so long. A token to remember me by. I admit I hope to retrieve it when I go to the funeral. For Izzy’s sake. I will send Vivian a Jacqui Lawson card tonight — with her sister’s help she can read the Internet still.

[I will ask Laura for a photo of the apartment she has rented for us — it’s on her email bnb site where she’s registered]

My, Izzy and Laura’s preparations for our Milan trip included a trip to a Apple store, a stressful place where everything is arranged to extort from the customer absurdly high rental costs monthly by leasing phones built to last less than 2 years. We went into an Evolution Home store which from the outside looked like some once bombed rotting building, but inside was filled with exquisitely chosen and set up second hand furniture at reasonable prices (sold by whom? I wondered, after how many forced moves). On Route 1 one can see the blight of spreading poverty in the appearance and growth of trailer camp sites. Some huge percentage of people in he US between ages 55 and 65 are now near homeless or homeless and soon will have no health care whatsoever unless they work 80 hours a month … But Izzy, Laura and I have an invitation to visit a long-time Net friend (who I met once in London, so many years ago, 1990s), who lives just outside Zurich. We’ll see the Alps from a train and also beautiful lakes.


Giuseppe Pellizza da Volpedo (1868-1807): Italian impressionist: La Fiumana

A pocket of hope: this is the first year since Jim’s death when I was not fleeced outrageously by someone claiming to do my tax returns — an expensive accountant hardly looked at mine individually (went there twice), a man in an H&R block store in a strip mall did not know what he was doing (there is a federal law forbidding states to require minimum education before you can put out a sign). And on top of that had to pay several hundred dollars in taxes! But two sessions of a truly expert AARP man at the OLLI at Mason where he taught us to understand the forms and then told us about AARP sites all over the US where people will make out your forms for free.


Sherwood Regional Library — it was a bit of a trip, but my garmin & mapquest got us there

So on two different nights around 5:10 Izzy and I set off for a library where we participated in filling out tax forms. The two women helping me paid attention, and I came back with papers showing my real estate and personal property taxes (deducible from the federal tax) and now I am getting a few hundred dollars back. The place is infected with the fundamental distrust across US society and only a social security card or number on a car would get you in; turned out this number is no where reprinted anywhere on any document but said card. At the same time not friendly people, not like British people in their daily impersonal relationships where there is a feeling of camaradarie. I told my name to both the women who did my taxes with me after we had finished and shook her hand and only then did we make eye contact: both turned, looked at me and smiled.

I have not been in a place like this since I went to Manhattan Eye Ear Nose and Throat (a hospital in Manhattan) regularly in the later 1970s. All services for free. The personnel could be blunt. I’d fill out the “need” form and someone would ask, “How do you live?” “With difficulty,” I’d reply. When Laura was born, we’d get money back from the tax system through Earned Income Tax Credit. (Jim did the tax returns all our lives). Like the people at OLLI all older people doing good deeds — one man became interested in a black young woman with a child who had been evicted some time this year (it’s recorded on tax forms!) and before you know it three people were attempting to navigate that horrible medical marketplace to help her find insurance that was better for her. Obama’s ACA stopped lousy insurance from being sold; it’s back. I know Virginia is one of the states that set up offices to help people. Another young white man was helped with something else not directly related to tax. A plain unadorned room in the back of a large public library.

So my fifth March without Jim begins:


(A Judith) Kliban cat

Miss Drake

Author: ellenandjim

Ellen Moody holds a Ph.D in British Literature and taught in American senior colleges for more than 40 years. Since 2013 she has been teaching older retired people at two Oscher Institutes of Lifelong Learning, one attached to American University (Washington, DC) and other to George Mason University (in Fairfax, Va). She is also a literary scholar with specialties in 18th century literature, translation, early modern and women's studies, film, nineteenth and 20th century literature and of course Trollope. For Trollope she wrote a book on her experiences of reading Trollope on the Internet with others, some more academic style essays, two on film adaptations, the most recent on Trollope's depiction of settler colonialism: "On Inventing a New Country." Here is her website: http://www.jimandellen.org/ellen/ No part of this blog may be reproduced without express permission from the author/blog owner. Linking, on the other hand, is highly encouraged!

9 thoughts on “A room of one’s own: gliding into the soul”

  1. Thanks for the lovely, calm blog. Your description of the Folger concert brings back a longing to be there. I have been rereading bits of Candide–no time for the entirety, short as it is–on the strength of his theme of cultivating one’s garden–and hope you will do it. I would love too to be in the course about the opening up of Impression beyond a handful of French–the painting you show is beautiful.

    1. Going to an all-day Smithsonian today (will probably not stay for the whole — on Ireland) and will write when I get back.

      I was thinking as I finished yesterday with Woolf, Imagine what it was like to work at a job and have to feel the money you earned is your husband’s — imagine having to have permission to sign a contract from him? Yes I must try to teach The Enlightenment – because I won’t be quite preaching to the choir as I learned when I tried Tom Jones.

  2. Ellen, I’ve not read your blog in more than a year, but am delighted to learn of your interest in new course offerings and pleased to be told of so many Impressionists unrecognized by most Americans. We have a number of expat Americans here who struggle with their US taxes and incompetent/indifferent tax advice, so it is great to hear of the AARP initiative. It might be worthwhile to contact them to get suggestions on help for elderly Americans abroad.

    Arthur and I are recovering, I from hip replacement surgery and Arthur from a broken ankle. At the moment I’m the more mobile of the two, now able to walk without a stick but still challenged by stairs, and cleared to drive for several weeks now. Arthur hopefully will be cleared soon, but needs to be weaned from the walking boot.

    Judith Lindley

    On Sat, Mar 3, 2018 at 5:38 AM, Under the Sign of Sylvia II wrote:

    > ellenandjim posted: ” Vasily Polenov (1844-1927), Russian impressionist: > Early Snow Dear friends, Today was a strange day. I woke to hear a > wuthering wind — appropriately enough I’ve begun to read Emily Bronte’s > Wuthering Heights (in a fine thorough Norton — editions” >

  3. Pat: So sorry to hear about your friend
    Me: Yes. She’s only 63.
    Pat: So sad, cancer I guess.
    Me: Yes, and it’s devouring her.
    Pat: Sad emoticon
    Me: Thank you for sympathizing, Pat. I feel guilty grieving for myself that it’s a loss for me but it is so hard to make friends locally at my age.
    Pat I have 6 good Friends, we lived in same area. Kids went to school together, belonged to a club together etc. One is like a sister I never had, she is 7 years older. I would be devastated if anything happened to her. I do feel your pain.
    Me: Actually I think those cultures and places in the world where people don’t move can sustain such friendships. In the US the norm is moving every 7 years if you own a house, and much quicker than that if you rent an apartment.

  4. Catherine Janofsky: Ellen, I’m so sorry about your friend. It is hard making friends as we get older. I am forcing myself to meet people by volunteering for the kidney foundation and Catholic Relief Services. I can understand why it’s hard in DC, because of driving. Are any groups at your university appealing? Could you mentor students?

    Me: I make a lot of acquaintances at the two OLLIs I teach at. They are people in their sixties and don’t need mentoring any more. And I do see the same people regularly. The schedules when they are on (one starts this Monday) keep me in the world and busy. It’s from there I have made the couple of local friends I have. I also belong to a scholarly group locally which meets 8 times a year and have a real friend there — and longtime acquaintances. At conferences it’s the same, one especially a few friends and all good acquaintances. It’s the close local friend I miss — meaning I suppose Jim. I have quite a number of close and meaningful friends on the Net and they are my lifeline daily.

    Patricia Honaker I go on Wednesdays to senior center. Since I can’t drive anymore (eyesight) a bus picks me up. Most of the people are in their 80’s. a good 10 plus years older than me but I enjoy listening to them. 😊 and it gives me enjoyment.

    Catherine Janofsky I only suggest this, as therapy helped when Den died. I forget how long you’ve been widowed, but I don’t think you ever stop loving one who’s died. I remarried, to my best friend, but miss Den sometimes so much I get a pain in the side and have to sit. I just take comfort that such a wonderful person was in my life, and that knowledge wraps around me like a blanket.

    Do you Garden? Play an instrument? Sew? I’m in a funk because I quit my job to care for a dying mother, and creating is a godsend.

    We just watched a delightful Italian movie, Pranzo di Ferragosto, set in Rome. It reminded me of Enchanted April, four women get together in Italy who don’t know each other. Not too many exterior shots. But enough to want to go back and live there forever. It’s short and sweet.

    Start planning your trip!!!

    What are you teaching?

    Me: I tried gardening and playing piano but found I truly don’t have an interest in learning these things — I’d rather read and write. And it was no trivial task at my age. We have started planning and done much. This term I’m teaching Virginia Woolf’s Flush, Orlando, Three Guineas, Between the Acts; Anthony Trollope’s He Knew He Was Right and “Journey to Panama.” I’m seroiusly taking a Bronte course (reading Wuthering Heights, Tenant of Wildfell Hall, Jane Eyre). I’m also taking others where I just show and listen to and learn about music, (American musicals, Leonard Cohen) WW1 (films lectures). And I read with an online group and work on a paper and book too.

    Catherine Janofsky I wish I could sit in on your Woolf. I’ve always loved Vita for her gardens and Harold for his diplomacy, but have come late to Virginia. Never had any English/American lit in college. We have senior programs here (which sounds so appalling) that I’m going to look into when I get back from India.
    Your post just sounded so sad and I was concerned.

    MeL I am sad and don’t disguise it or present a false face. OLLIs are not senior programs or even adult education: they are “sort of” college courses (without degree, credit, no homework beyond reading unless specified — some instructions do ask people to do presentations, and no grades) attached to universities, funded by Oscher Institute and following its norms or rules. All are volunteers except four people — that’s in the 4 cases I know of (Virginia, DC, Maryland and what I’ve been told of NY) — who do hard administration work. I just added a 4 week session at the OLLI at Mason on Dante’s Purgatorio, using Mandelbaum’s translation lest the WW1 course be bad — it is done by a retired military officer so one can’t tell what the outlook will be, while the Puratorio is a professor of Italian from Mason, a Dante specialist.

    The blog is a calm one and I thought I ended on a very good note, hopeful, about US society, in the activities of the AARP groups to set up sites all over the US and help people do their taxes for free, taking the people seriously, caring about them as individuals.

    It’s so rare you see this: my feeling is both the OLLIs and these tax sites are that way because very little money is changing hands. I”ve not seen anything as decent as what was At the OLLIs the people pay for these courses, but the yearly fee is very reasonable. It’s under $400 at Mason, which I pay so I have full library privileges and I can take as many courses as I please over the year. I don’t pay at the OLLI at AU and get to take one course each time I teach one, so they add up; when registration is over, if there are any not full, I can register there too. The library privileges at AU for OLLI people are nowhere as good as the library on-line database at Mason so paying to be a “student” participant at the OLLI at AU is not as worth it to me.

  5. I’ll add it is good to talk here the way we do. I know all the arguments decrying face-book and all social media, but my experience shows me that like many human arrangements these cyberspace places are popular because the have so many good things to offer,basically another mode of communication with more people

    I took a course on Future Learn (it’s online, a place for university level courses for free) called the Anthropology of social media, and judgement on the whole was the Internet facilitates human intercourse positively in different ways in different cultures.

    Catherine: Me I’ll add it is good to talk here the way we do. I know all the arguments decrying face-book but my experience shows me that like many human arrangements it is popular because it has many good things to offer. I took a course on Future Learn (it’s online, a place for university level courses for free) called the Anthropology of social media, and judgement on the whole was the Internet facilitates human intercourse positively in different ways in different cultures.

    Catherine: I agree. I met a wonderful woman in Düsseldorf in a group called Sisters of Avalon. I stayed with her over Sylvester (New Years) after Dennis died. I did a masters online and developed great friendships.

    Me: That’s wonderful. We beat time and space and chance this way.

  6. Catherine: I have never heard of it [these OLLIs] ! I am thinking of taking classes for the elderly at MICA or Peabody when I get home. How wonderful to read Dante, especially with you trip looming large.

    I would love to go back and get another masters, but will wait til we move back to San Diego, because Maryland is much more expensive than SDSU. Ever since I moved here 14 years ago I’ve felt intellectually bereft. My first husband and my son loved a good historical or literary argument, and Den’s dead and Tim’s in SD, with my grandchildren. I try not to let this husband know how much I miss my children, friends, and SDSU.

    I am going to begin Cameron’s The Artist’s Way path; are you familiar with it? A card reader suggested it, and I’ve put it off til now. I do love having someone read my cards. I’m pretty good with palms.

    I hope this spring will wash away some of your sadness. It’s so beautiful out right now I am taking advantage and start pruning my roses. My greatest sadness is my melanoma, which dictates my sun time. I recommend reading Enchanted April. I read it while the winds were howling Friday and its optimism
    changed my outlook.

    Me: I read the novel, Enchanted April and did like it — it is also very melancholy, which the film glides over. Very comforting. Jim is now dead 4 years and 5 months. I’m beginning to understand there will be no substitute for me, just carrying on the life we had together, without him: same play, second or last act.

Comments are closed.