New Year’s Eve: Izzy’s song, Clarycat not gone from us altogether; the year’s memories


Here I am holding firmly to my sturdy fellow, Ian, Izzy taking the photo — greeting everyone on FB and twitter & bluesky & a literary mastodon

Dear friends and readers,

This has not been an easy year. As you know, we lost our beloved darling Clarycat. She is not gone from us because we remember her — not just the urn and the pawprints, but I’ve ordered four images to be blown up into framed prints (8 by 11) and I will have one in my workroom to sit behind me as she used to do, one in my bedroom near the one of Jim, and two more smaller ones (3 by 5) in the dining area and enclosed porch where I sit and read. I greeted friends and acquaintances on FB, twitter — and also BlueSky and a literary mastodon (which last place I don’t understand as a way to communicate with others at all, it being one of these Discords) with me holding onto Ian — quite a two-arms full.

I also as a match put onto FB and twitter a photo taken by Izzy and me holding poor Clarycat a month after she had her stroke. I had been told she probably had a brain tumor (because of the way she could not hold her head steady, stumbled to the left) but no hyperthyroidism. From her photo you can see she no longer had a natural expression on her face, nor is she holding her lower body up by herself any more. I am so worried. It matches the one just above

Izzy has commemorated the year with one of her music videos. I think Simon and Garfunkel’s “American” admirably suited to her low-throated soprano voice (with its mezzo contralto registers):

****************************************************

So, 12/31/2023, 5:45 pm, we (Izzy and I) have just (45 minutes ago) returned from the Kennedy Center where we saw The Girl from North Country, book by Conor McPherson (the last couple of years the Booker Prize has gone to Irish writers’ books), music and lyrics by Bob Dylan. Upfront it has its problems: that often, especially the first half, the songs, music and lyric seem to have nothing to do with the lives of this group of people living in or renting for now in a boarding house _is a problem_. Audiences don’t invent parallel universes (see review). But the stories grow on you and it is such a relief to get away from the script of competitive success and boasting — the choice of 1934, a year deep in the depression as speaking to Americans today tells us a lot. Everyone trying to fail better. Many not succeeding. It reminded me of Our Town (the imagined backward thrust from later death), and Steinbeck at his best. I loved the truthfulness of the down-and-out despairing stories and characters as well as their occasional hopefulness


The doctor character as MC (Washington Post, Thomas Floyd)

By the second half I was deeply roused. Not a happy or triumphant way to bring in the New Year; something better than that — a remembering, a refusal to stop looking at what’s happening through the lens of historical fiction: two reviews from the New York Times: Ben Brantley; same writer‘ for The Guardian, much more critical, but recognizing something deeply from within American culture, Alexis Soloski; the Irish Times.


Ensemble moment

We remembered our last year at the Kennedy Center with Jim, which I find I described here on this blog in 2013: “Elvis has left the building.”

Home again — both taxi drivers were friendly to us! About two hours after we got in, we sat down to steak and spaghetti and I have drunk half of one of three bottles of champagne that have been sitting in a cupboard for 11 years — since Jim died. The bottle was not so hard to open up after all. Main force and a scissor completed the work.

***************************************************


Cover illustration for the New Yorker for 2023 by Bianca Bangarelli — it’s how I bring in and out many days & nights of my life

In these New Year’s Eve blogs or postings/memories, one is expected to answer questions, like what was the best or your favorite book or movie or play. I just saw the question, What was my favorite moment of this year? I cannot answer such a question; it presupposes joy as some kind of regular recurrence. Joy is now twice gone from me: gone with Jim’s death, and now reinforced with Clarycat’s …
I do feel tired and admit this was the saddest Christmas and New Year’s I’ve had since the year Jim died. I have this feeling of wanting to do less, reach for less, but what I do do genuinely take real pleasure in. To slow down. I don’t want to stop traveling altogether but that the trips I take be genuinely meaningful. Now that I am so aware of Ian as a personality by my side, I am also very reluctant to leave him unless I feel for sure I’ll have a good time or need to go. He and I are getting closer.

But there is something else working its way through me — culminating this year in the loss of Clary. I want to think about why I do what I do. I want to get my priorities accurate. What shall I do about these blogs? I want to see some way to feel secure until my death. And, yes, recognize that my age will make me dependent on one or both of my daughters way down the line (I hope way down).

Thus to me this year was no transcendent book or movie or play, though I entered into (read, watched) some superlatively fine ones, which justified to me living on, experiences I felt on offer to live for and for trying to share them with others. I carried on trying to be a mother-friend to my younger daughter, Isobel. I am not going to make a listicle (as my older daughter ironically calls these, while she is paid very well for doing such). Going together (me and Izzy) to Somerville College, Oxford, and the experience there and some of what we knew in London was probably our highpoint; for me Clary’s death that which I cannot recover from, the year’s deep grief.

As to sheer enjoyment (sort of inexplicable except I do love literary allusive books to other books I’ve loved) I have been loving the Dorothy Sayers’ Wimsey/Harriet Vane books, and both TV series (Ian Carmichael and Edward Petheridge/Harriet Walter) — she is entertaining to me (literary deeply) and her life as told buy two biographies (I’m going to begin a third soon). I am so stimulated and feel so guilty that I did not begin to know and understand American literature, especially of the African-American type. I carry on my feminist literary studies, though I now realize my understanding of the word feminist is now not part of any public group …

*************************************************

It’s nearly midnight just now. I fell asleep trying to watch another episode of the 6th season of The Crown but did finally manage, the 8th episode, The Ritz. This is the hour during which Margaret has three strokes; we trace her journey towards death while she remembers one night in 1945, the ending of World War Two, May 8th when she and Elizabeth went to the Ritz and Lilibet ended up in the basement doing some wild dancing with the people celebrating down there. The fireworks are starting and I hear the booming of the rockets. Another year gone, and a dangerous one to come.

My best friend, Ian, is on my lap pushing his body against mine, his head against my head

The Girl from the North ended on this song which I send along to you gentle reader, for all of us:

Ellen

Author: ellenandjim

Ellen Moody holds a Ph.D in British Literature and taught in American senior colleges for more than 40 years. Since 2013 she has been teaching older retired people at two Oscher Institutes of Lifelong Learning, one attached to American University (Washington, DC) and other to George Mason University (in Fairfax, Va). She is also a literary scholar with specialties in 18th century literature, translation, early modern and women's studies, film, nineteenth and 20th century literature and of course Trollope. For Trollope she wrote a book on her experiences of reading Trollope on the Internet with others, some more academic style essays, two on film adaptations, the most recent on Trollope's depiction of settler colonialism: "On Inventing a New Country." Here is her website: http://www.jimandellen.org/ellen/ No part of this blog may be reproduced without express permission from the author/blog owner. Linking, on the other hand, is highly encouraged!

5 thoughts on “New Year’s Eve: Izzy’s song, Clarycat not gone from us altogether; the year’s memories”

  1. Ellen,
    This is quite a beautiful tribute to your beloved “Clarycat!” The photos and musical rendition are so genuine and from the heart, that it all says clearly how Clarycat is still a part of life here in you and others, not hauntingly, but maintaining a deeply felt connection through collective memories and real life experience that you share! To me there is no way this all doesn’t add up to something much “more profound and beyond our present comprehension,” like what “Einstein pointed out in his personal point of view of existence” in that previous comment I wrote here!
    A happy and loving New Year to you and all there who were close friends of Clarycat, that beautiful cat!
    Larry

  2. Thank you, Larry. As you must realize by now, I am an atheist and so much that you write passes me by. I look at the motive and feeling you express and am grateful for the sympathy. I will write more tomorrow night when Izzy and I have returned from a musical we are to see at the Kennedy Center (Girl from the North), have had our steak and champagne dinner at home and I am settling into either reading a book or watching a congenial movie. I thank you for all your generous messages and wish for you as well as all of us a good year to come. This will depend in the US on a fascist gov’t (headed by Trump) NOT coming into power.

  3. Ellen:

    Yes, Ian is a sturdy and fine fellow!

    We have watched so many congenial Christmas movies

    THE KING’S SPEECH

    ALL CREATURES GREAT AND SMALL Christmas special [with the evacuee Eva].

    In June 2022 I had the privilege and the opportunity to see GIRL FROM THE NORTH COUNTRY.

    What a wonderful musical with so many of Dylan’s songs turned into stories and characters.

    Yes, in her last weeks and months Clarycat had almost a mask on her face.

    1. Yes it was like a mask. I couldn’t get through to her from her face. It was the same with Jim early on (he was in retreat and denial in mid-August) and again in September. In October, when he was drawing near death, he did a couple of times truly speak to me. When he said, for example, he didn’t want to die. And it was that way until the end (the death) of both of them. There was a level in which what happened to Clary and between me and here was a repeat of what happened to Jim and between me and him, only I was able to be much wiser with Clarycat.

  4. New Year begins. Soon I’ll be making my syllabus for my Women’s Detective Fiction (my title Women in & writing in Detective Fiction). I’ve been reading away in Sayers, PDJames and Josephine Tey. Last night I finally thought of a successful way to get Ian to sleep in my room with me. Clarycat’s catbed. I moved it in and he slept there. Then I moved it back to my study and he followed suit. Today too the two new chairs I bought, one for the front room, the other to replace my feeble deskchair (put in front of the laptop on the other side of the room. The first new furniture since Jim died (with the exception of three bookcases, 2 3/4 size for the enclosed porch, and one yet smaller for the hall) Best of all, The Old Towne Photo shop has agreed (though reluctantly) seems to have accepted the photoshopped images Nora Nachumi so kindly made for me (thank you, Nora Nachumi, and I’m waiting for the appointment where I can buy frames and soon have her image in this study, my bedroom, the enclosed porch and dining room

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.