Clarycat has died (2009-2023)


How she looked a few minutes after the anesthesia was injected — she is no longer alive but for a few minutes she is as alive, and retains her beauty; note the IV in her paw: it enabled her death to be peaceful, gentle

1 a.m, 11/21: My bed feels very empty. Half its intended occupants are gone. Ian sleeping on his cat tree nearby — temperamentally he keeps a little distance. There are 3 cat comforters on this bed. I sleep on the side where Jim spent his years of sleep. A haunted bed.

Dear friends,

This past Saturday night Clarycat’s condition worsened. She stopped eating and drinking, she seemed to be no longer able to stand steadily; her walking was a continual falling and tumbling over. Friday night on my lap I felt her trembling intensely. On Sunday I had her in her cat-bed by my side as I sat at my computer where I work (read, write, think). Next to her the electric radiator (with a towel on it so if I need to wipe her it will be a warm towel), to the side of the cat-bed, some food and water. She lays there very still but sometimes I can tell she is awake. Someone suggested to me she was trying to live on for my sake; she has been staying very close for the last few days. And it so worries me because it is such an effort for her to follow me. The baby-wrap doesn’t work, so I try to carry her in cat-beds, which I decided to rotate (as she wets them and is uncomfortable).  When she trembles so, I fear she is in pain. So Izzy finally agreed.

This morning at about 8:10 I called the local Vet (the Mobile vet was much less accommodating), and I had a “walk-in” appointment at 10:30 am, where I was assured I would be holding her as the euthanasia proceeded, and could have her ashes in an urn in a few days. She did cry out from her carrier as we were walking from the car to the building — some instinct? but beyond that she made no sound, maybe mild mews. They took me right into a room in the back so my crying state would not disturb the other patients (people and pets waiting to be seen). The young man took down data and then I paid with a credit card ($417). Then the super-kind Vet who took Clary away to the “treatment” room to have the IV (which they called catheterized); you can see it in her paw. She brought her back and placed her in my lap. She asked if she should go out and I could have a couple of minutes with Clary. I said no. Then what she did was twice inject into the tube anesthesia. She was so frail the first dose did it; I saw her jerk and knew then it was over. So as I felt Jim’s heart stop, so I witnessed her lose her life. I held her in my arms as I had held him.

The Vet then started talking of how she had joined Jim “somewhere.” I had told her of how she had been attached to him, how he had died of esophageal cancer and how that and the death of my dog had influenced the way I was trying to the right and best thing for Clary and me and Izzy. I then tried to stop this sort of sort of vaguely religious talk, and said I was an atheist, but she seemed not to be able to stop herself from coming back to her cloud. She said, Was it not comforting? or some such statement asking did I not need some thought to help me through. So I said, “I tell myself no one can harm or hurt her now, she is safe; like Jim free from pain, in her case from that confusion & longing I would see on her face.”

I was thinking of Shakespeare’s song in Cymbeline:

Fear no more the heat o’ the sun,
Nor the furious winter’s rages;
Thou thy worldly task hast done,
Home art gone, and ta’en thy wages:
Golden lads and girls all must,
As chimney-sweepers, come to dust.

Fear no more the frown o’ the great;
Thou art past the tyrant’s stroke;
Care no more to clothe and eat;
To thee the reed is as the oak:
The scepter, learning, physic, must
All follow this, and come to dust.

Fear no more the lightning flash,
Nor the all-dreaded thunder stone;
Fear not slander, censure rash;
Thou hast finished joy and moan:
All lovers young, all lovers must
Consign to thee, and come to dust.

No exorciser harm thee!
Nor no witchcraft charm thee!
Ghost unlaid forbear thee!
Nothing ill come near thee!
Quiet consummation have;
And renownèd be thy grave!

My heart began to hurt, chest pain as I began to cry. The Vet began to be fearful for me, but I said no, not to worry. The pain did subside. She suggested a cab; did I have a relative to go home to? — I said I had talked with Laura by texting and emailing and Izzy would be home tonight. I did make a mistake when I drove the car out of the lot — I did went over the curb, but I did it so slow and gentle it seems not to have damaged anything. She stepped out for a minute or two and I sat with Clary. I petted her, talked — perhaps I should have done that before but I hadn’t been thinking straight and now I think if I had gotten hysterical perhaps that would have communicated itself to her in her last minutes. So good I didn’t but waited until she was not there any more.

To memory:  when I first saw her. A kitten of some 4 months. She was born April 7, 2009, and we adopted her in June or July, along with Ian, her male sibling. I picked her out of a group of squirming kittens because she looked so intense and nervous, so eager. I bonded with her then. I bought him because we had decided to buy two together and the woman said they were siblings. They had the same face and his ginger and white color was so fresh and appealing. I noticed the woman selling them to me was particularly fond of her as a cat who had been in need of affection.

Laura had driven me to a pet fair in a large pet store deep in Fairfax.  I was buying/adopting the cats partly to bond with Laura whom I could see loved cats. I also hoped they would help bring Izzy out of her autistic shell. Recently, finally, that has been true of she and Ian, though early on I have a photo of them together, she rejoicing


Probably 2012

Clary was ever after not a cat to shy or hide away from people, which Ian did (rather like Snuffy in Sesame Street who thought early on if he could not see us, we could not see him). Clary was nervy after affection and interaction. She would come out to make friends. Bold, trustful.


As a tiny kitten sitting on the one volume doorstop Clarissa

I named her after one of my favorite heroines, Richardson’s Clarissa Harlowe (I did my dissertation on the novel) but very quickly it seemed an absurdly long or inappropriate name so I switched to the character’s nickname in the book, Clary, and it was not long before she was Clarycat. Here she is a kitten, around 2010, and in her mature adulthood, 2017:

She was very attached to Jim before she transferred to me and one of the ideas in my mind as I grieve is she was my living link to him. He would sit with her on his lap looking down at her. She grieved for him when he died, going up and down the hall, caw, caw, cawing, sitting on his chair for three weeks, waiting for him to return.

Her life was that of a cat in a given household. She loved to look out the windows; she was very possessive over her toys and would not share with Ian what she liked to hold in her mouth. She could be very fierce.


Here she is running across the bookshelves —

She was not that playful but she was very affectionate: I used to think she thought I was a cat by the way she’s lick me all over where she could reach.

She and Ian were constant companions, lying together in a cat-bed, sitting together at windows, taking turns, playing both rough and kindly — it hurt him when she would not play with him after she had her stroke. He would run away and cry.


Sitting in a sun-puddle in my enclosed porch together

It was a stroke in April of this year that began her precipitous decline. She knew she couldn’t play in the robust ways they had. She could no longer control the direction she wanted to go in. She kept moving to the left side. He would then cry and clamor because she would not let him near.

I love remembering how in the morning Jim and I would wake and find her lying inbetween us. For many years after he died, I’d find her lying close to me, snuggled into my side when I’d wake up.


Just leaving kittenhood, clutching onto the table — perhaps 3 years old


Shortly after Jim died: Izzy and I at a JASNA, Clary and Ian left for 6 days, once a day a kind sitter came to stay an hour or so, feed and play with them; the sitter photographed her, you see she is waiting for Jim who had been her perpetual companion at such times ….

I believe she had a happy cat life. In the early years when Jim was alive, he kept them out of my study because when kittens one of them (probably Ian) had eaten a wire to a computer and entangled the whole set up so it took hours to retrieve it. Jim also did not like them sleeping in the bed, but as kittens they were so persistent to come into the room, it was better to let them in than endure the noise of keeping them out. Still I was not able to bond with them until they grew older, calmer and I just said I wanted them to be allowed to come into my room as I spent so much time there. From then on they were hours and hours in this room.  There are two cat-beds here for them.  I also never minded either of them sleeping with me. I let my dog, Llyr, sleep next to me most of her life.


A photo of her while we were in vacation, bewildered where we were and who was this new person taking care of her

She is gone now. I miss what she was when she was well, and I miss what she was when she was struggling to function normally and couldn’t. After her stroke, she never was able to walk properly; her head went to the side (a sign of brain tumor), and one of the Vets who saw her said she had a cancer that metastasized to her “gut.” So she weighed 5 pounds the last time we weighed her. Her body was not strong enough to withstand the aging process. She was actually doing pretty well at first and across the early summer — eating 2 cans of wet food. But beginning this fall she started to lose strength. It was as Johnson said: Decay pursue[d] Decay,/Still drop[ped] some Joy from with’ring Life away.” I kept being hopeful, made plans for what I’d do to keep her comfortable. Warm the towels on the radiator I was using to wipe her dry. I rejoiced when she got up at night and made her way into the kitchen in the dark to ear and drink, used the litter box and then made her way back to her cat-bed near me.  Then two or three days ago another level of stillness set in. She could no longer sit by me and I lay her in the cat-bed taking it whereever I was where she could try to be comfortable. The last day and a half or so she was sleeping or hardly awake most of the time.

I loved her and will love to the end of my time alive. I do believe that in this case I did it right. For Llyr I didn’t behave adequately; for Jim I was stymied, but here I gave her every minute of precious life as long as she was up to it, and when I saw the agon was beginning spared her and me.

She will exist on the way Jim does — through my memory of her I will keep her with me and him as long as my (failing) memory holds out. I have found that tag and placed it where there is a kind of shrine to the right side of my mantelpiece, with an urn for Jim there, photographs and keepsakes (his glasses, the DVD), a toy sheep from Stonehenge. I will have an urn of her ashes and put it there too. Ian is with me now and I will be as faithful to him as I was to her. Here he is no more than a year old captured by Laura openly vulnerable seeking affection:

Clarycat was a very loving cat — from the moment I set eyes on her until the day she died.

Ellen

Author: ellenandjim

Ellen Moody holds a Ph.D in British Literature and taught in American senior colleges for more than 40 years. Since 2013 she has been teaching older retired people at two Oscher Institutes of Lifelong Learning, one attached to American University (Washington, DC) and other to George Mason University (in Fairfax, Va). She is also a literary scholar with specialties in 18th century literature, translation, early modern and women's studies, film, nineteenth and 20th century literature and of course Trollope. For Trollope she wrote a book on her experiences of reading Trollope on the Internet with others, some more academic style essays, two on film adaptations, the most recent on Trollope's depiction of settler colonialism: "On Inventing a New Country." Here is her website: http://www.jimandellen.org/ellen/ No part of this blog may be reproduced without express permission from the author/blog owner. Linking, on the other hand, is highly encouraged!

25 thoughts on “Clarycat has died (2009-2023)”

  1. I am so sorry for the loss of your beloved Clarycat. I just went through that with my daughter as we had to put her dog to sleep. It is so painful to lose these loving beings. My heart is with you.

    1. They are beloved family members . We know them the way we know one another — their consciousness is there for us and ours for them. I am sorry your daughter has lost her companion and he lost his life.

  2. I sent you a message this morning, Ellen in reply to your announcement of Clary’s passing. I hope it went through, but as often happens with mine, it did not show up in the Trollope thread of condolences. I send mine again. This is a lovely tribute to your beautiful little cat. Judith

    1. Mea culpa. My fault. I didn’t see it and have now answered. I tried to remember things — not enough. What she was like, what made her distinctive to us.

    1. Yes she is. Good statement, comforting. How I loved her. She was so sweet and did ever stay close. Sitting on me, lying next to me.

      I now wish I had sat with her for a couple of minutes alone before we did the euthanasia, but I was there with her waiting for the Vet and assistant to come in.

      1. From Diana: “I have pictures of Peter all over the house. I use Shutterfly.com. You go to the Shutterfly website, and upload your chosen picture(s) from your computer, then order the size(s) you want them printed. They come in just a few days. I usually get 5 x 7s glossy prints and frame them. So I see Peter in every room, which is what I want. I wrote a post about that a little while ago, quoting Far From the Madding Crowd: “And at home by the fire, whenever you look up there I shall be— and whenever I look up, there will be you.” And so he is. I mention this because I wanted you to know you don’t have to hire experts or worry about your settings or printer (a home printer won’t reproduce a beloved picture the way a photo company will, anyway). It’s easy, no tech bother. Attached is the latest photo of us that I’ve framed. I love it.”

        Me: “Why thank you. I didn’t know. I managed to have pictures of Jim all over the house, at least one in every room, also many pictures of Laura and Izzy and both cats — I admit or notice for the first time more of Clarycat than Ian. But I had a different printer then. I shall use Shutterfly.com. I’m copying your instructions. I’d like a couple of Clarycat framed. I wish I had taken more of her this past Monday but I was so sad and just took that last one I’d ever see of her. The most perpetual and faithful of loving companions.”

  3. Fatemeh Minaei: “This is so sad. But it is good that you made her pain stop, dear Ellen.”

    Yes I keep that in mind. She must’ve had a kind of perpetual low grade headache.

  4. Ellen, my heartfelt condolences!
    I cried immediately upon getting the news of Clary Cat passing on.

    But as I read what you wrote, though I was still crying through most of Clary’s story as a member of your family, there was a transition to peace then my tears became “tears of joy for a wonderful gift of life” which without a doubt it really was, for her and all of you who shared life ever so closely.

    You’ve written her story and loving epitaph here so beautifully.
    I absolutely was able to envision these final days and then hours of your time together in as I see it, this temporary stage of living. When you said this I immediately was caught up again in how it went for my Penny who was absolutely “holding onto life for me!”

    “Trying to live on for my sake; she has been staying very close for the last few days.”

    In Penny’s case there wasn’t any major pain physically, but, more so of facing the fact that our long time together being so happy and loving was drawing to an end, which she could tell. I too held Penny close to me as she slipped away dying, so close to me and at home quietly; so I believe these were the “best possible outcomes” or “means to an end.” Now we can understand Clary Cat was a very affectionate and intelligent companion pet for sure! She obviously had a precious and endearing life there with you as a member of the family!

    As you also point out the grace and peace you afforded her and yourself by doing what you could to allow Clary Cat to savor that life clearly indicated in this statement; “but here I gave her every minute of precious life as long as she was up to it!” Yes she most certainly got “a fine life lived to the fullest with you, Jim and the entire family” for many blessed years.

    All of the photographs are great and so helpful in getting “a genuine sense of what her life was like” and how all of “you made a difference for one another!”
    Ian is so adorable! I’m sure both of you will be missing Clary Cat for a while, but, just as you said Ellen; “she is still with you in your memories” being her playful happy self which goes on and on!

    Thank you for sharing all of this, which does go a long way in helping me continue to establish and appreciate all that is important around us!
    Bless you and all there!
    Larry

    1. Penny was her name I now know. Yes that statement the cat was in effect trying to stay alive for me resonated and I worried I was asking too much — she was straining and in pain to do this.

      Thank you for another generous posting.

      1. All in all Clary Cat hanging in there to be with all the love she had known is “the joy of it!” Imagine what life and the end of it is like for an alley cat or feral ones that only have had the hard cruel reality of “naked survival” as “their lot in life.”

        I know from Penny who was “a trooper or determined all of her life,” even when she was only little more than a year old when I came along!
        A young healthy new dog facing this: “Euthanasia is defined as the act of humanely ending the life of a living being in order to end extreme suffering (often as the result of a serious and irreversible medical condition). In animals, euthanasia is often called “putting to sleep” or “putting down.” In Penny’s case a dog that was difficult to get adopted.

        But on the day she had been scheduled to be “put down” she got to go home with me, which was the very morning that much too early end would have happened and didn’t! Because very late the previous day I had mysteriously been drawn to her plight in the nick of time to fight on her behalf; and I got that typically “irreversible” situation “reversed!” So from that day on she wanted to “give it her all” to meet any challenge she ultimately had to face, but doing it with me there with her to the end was “reward enough for her, and me.” Because in the end we didn’t get robbed of our determination “to fight the good fight;” some in life are “warriors” I’ve learned, but that isn’t the calling for one and all.

        The Impossible Dream

        Song from The Man of La Mancha
        “To try, when your arms are too weary
        To reach the unreachable star

        This is my quest, to follow that star
        No matter how hopeless, no matter how far
        To fight for the right without question or pause
        To be willing to march into hell for a heavenly cause

        And I know if I’ll only be true
        To this glorious quest
        That my heart will lie peaceful and calm
        When I’m laid to my rest”

        [audio src="https://www.traditioninaction.org/Cultural/Music_P_files/P005_Dream.mp3" /]

        But alas; worry not, as all that is good ultimately is in good hands!

      2. Oh wow. You mean whatever was afflicting Penny, a dog, ceased. She went into remission — to use the human terms for cancer stopping.
        And you saved her from death — and a hard existence. Myself I think all animals who are pet-companions should be kept in — if possible. They will live a longer life and not transmit disease. I admit I have not yet listened to your two musical pieces. I will do that later tonight. Thank you for the story and verses and companionship. Is Penny still with you?

      3. Hi again Ellen! Oh I wish I had that kind of healing touch to have produced a healing miracle! But though I couldn’t save or fight for Penny in that way I had the ability to pull her out of a terrible situation and adopt her! When I was drawn to a dog howl that reminded me of Samoyeds I once had and I just happened to be doing a bit of work at a company next-door to the shelter the day before she was to be euthanized! This was decided not due to any illness but instead because the facility run by a town had decided after several months of having her there and giving her plenty of attention to make her more adoptable failed. But sadly as she had been found as a stray pup that was such a high energy alpha female Basenji/Rhodesian Ridgeback mix which eventually turned out to be “too much for prospective adopters” and the town officials saw no option for her and were concerned with her wanting to dominate other dogs so much, which could lead to complaints.

        I’ve rescued wildlife as a rehabber and usually am good with most animals. So if I didn’t come along exactly when I had just a dozen or so hours before she was to be put-down she was a goner! But all the sign-offs had been done, so she was finished before she really started in life in a sense, as I was told they do not ever reverse such an order that is made; always because the animal is determined to be a potentially serious “public safety problem or just not adoptable.” I made a convincing gesture in the nick of time to the director immediately upon seeing Penny, and was told that it wasn’t just up to her but that she would talk to the higher authorities and see what she could do, and also said not to get my hopes up, because also the very next morning quite early, the veterinarian was already scheduled to end Penny’s life.

        I got there before anyone the next day and it was all like a dreamy miracle when the director told me to go see my dog Penny! Penny was thrilled to go home with me and she eventually calmed down a lot by my working with her over time, to become “such a sweet loving girl that loved everyone she met,” but she still just had to bark at other dogs to show them she is the queen! We had the gift of spending 16 years together until she died quiet and peacefully at home with me by her side talking to her, as her heart stopped and she just let go! Many years ago, I actually was by the side of one of my grandmothers’ when she passed away in a very similar way, as some of the family was there with me saying our final goodbyes!

        Both times were of course extremely sad for me but a woman that does lots of work with animals told me that’s just me feeling bad for myself. There is some truth to that but I know any person or companion animal that I love stays with me in my heart and I do feel relieved when all hardship ceases for that loved one, and I continue to really miss them! But then I do have my view on all things miraculous and I know in my heart with determination it’s never a lost cause, so hope drives me on to reach the light over the final horizon, and perhaps “to reach the unreachable star!”

        I do believe I’m going to see them all again as hard as it might be to think it possible at times, I do know there is so much we can’t even scratch the surface of and never can in this finite condition, such glorious mysteries; and Like Albert Einstein said, “to know that the impenetrable actually exists should leave a person rapt in awe every day!”

        I had the one link by the way there that will work and the other was formatted wrong so it’s not going to do anything. You probably found out the second one works fine, I hope!

        Hold dearly in the heart all of the good Ellen!

        Larry

        PS again the photos are beautiful and I get so happy seeing Clary Cat and Ian cuddling in their cat-bed or sitting on the book shelf in front of the dictionary! All great shots and times you and they had!!! I say there is truth to things going on and on to eternity too!

  5. Howard: “Ellen, my condolences. Unfortunately, I know from personal experience how difficult this is.
    Try to remember the wonderful years you had together and all the joy she gave you.
    Best,
    Howard

    I am trying but it is making me feel sadder. What helps is frankly to admit to myself she must’ve been in pain since April when she had that first stroke. Ever after she kept her head to the side — a brain tumor must hurt. They so beautifully accept us, don’t they?

    I have my Ian still 🙂 I am going to adopt new kittens in another month or so. Not unfaithful. I won’t forget Clary but I would like more of her kind of company for myself — and Izzy and Ian too.

    Love to you and yours,
    Howard

  6. “Your obituary for Clarycat was lovely. I thought the photo of her with Ian’s front leg around her was great. That would be one I would frame if you haven’t.

    Linda”

    It’s interesting what are different people’s favorites. You’re right. That is very sweet. He is demonstrating their affection. He is on
    my lap now. He is one of these relatively undemonstrative cats who people don’t realize is very attached. But he is.

    Clarycat was more like a dog. It has been sad that since April she would not play with him and only on rare occasions let him near her. She would growl fiercely: my guess is she knew how frail she was.

    It is sad right now without her — a presence is gone. But she was struggling so and Saturday night just could do no more.
    Laura kept saying “they will tell you.” She didn’t tell me; she still sat on my lap Sunday night but I saw how weak, how
    unable she was, how she couldn’t even eat or drink. I hope she didn’t have a headache all that time

  7. In a way the months of her illness prepared me for this. I would be much lonelier if this were say May, and she had quickly died after that stroke. I miss her presence, not her character for she was not herself after the stroke. She’d never lick me, and kept further off. She seemed to make some improvements at first (after an injection), but slowly she was distancing herself and by the time of early September, she was a blank presence in comparison to what she had been. I was trying hard to feed and to help her walk – she was in an increasing state of distress. Yesterday the Vet used a long work which meant her neurological structure and let’s say thoughts were none of them functioning right.

    I wonder if people who have more and real close friends would turn to a pet the way I have since Jim’s death.

  8. Dear Ellen,

    So very sorry to hear that.

    Fran

    Me: She died very peacefully; she was so frail that the 1st of 2 injections administered through an IV did it — I saw or felt the moment. No one can hurt or harm her any more, no pain, no confusion. 2009-2023. I did all I could for her.

  9. I think I’m now grieving for Clarycat. I realized this morning that what I was seeing in the cat is what I saw in Jim: the last stages of cancer. She was suddenly again losing weight and having stopped eating Saturday night was becoming a bag of bones in my arms. He was painfully thin at the end and could not stand. He could barely sit up. She could no longer stand for more than a few moments if that.
    So I was sparing her the last agon I could not spare him. I did ask about it to the doctors but they all looked horrified — how easy it is for these human beings (maybe this is the definition of a “professional”) it seems to put on a false face, for in 11 states in the US assisted dying is permitted, these 11 transcend the silly categories of red and blue states. (silly because a so-called red state has often a majority of democratic voters, it’s just that voting has been so engineered to favor GOP preposterously).

    As I wrote, I wish I had sat with her longer but probably or possibly I might have become hysterical and she knew I was loving her as she sat in my lap before they took her away to have the IV put in her paw. Then they brought her back and she sat on my lap with a fluffy towel around her.

  10. I asked if people thought that those who have few or no close friends turn to pets more for love. Subtext is do autistic people turn to them too — as not requiring a subtext, not playing social games I don’t know how to cope with.

    Diana Birchall: “That’s a good question. I’ve certainly turned to my three cats since Peter died. I don’t have much of a social circle in the city where I live, but in any case the house would seem lonely and empty at night if it wasn’t populated by my three companionable darlings!

    Me: Thank you for answering. Prelude to tomorrow’s “bash,” it is very quiet here today. Many places (but restaurants) closing. Izzy gone to work and may take a walk afterwards. So I am very grateful to have Ian with me. He has been an active companion this morning, coming up to me, sitting on my lap, meowing when in a different room …

  11. Nancy Mayer: “I know a man who watched his wife die of cancer. He had to be strong for her and her children and grandchildren He had a cat that shared the night vigils with him. Then the cat died and his grief seemed excessive to some. The grief over his wife’s death was too deep to be eased by tears, and he still misses her. He has a new cat but often speaks fondly of the one who died whose presence had helped him endure the lingering death of his wife. I certainly see nothing amiss in mourning the death of a beloved pet. We mourn the death of those we love.”

    Me: I just tried to print out the a photo of her and Ian deeply embracing, but my printer wouldn’t do it. The settings are not appropriate for the picture software. I may email the IT guy on Friday or next Monday to help me by remote. I will put it on my wall facing my desk. I don’t mean to apologize for mourning for her.

    Probably what I was speaking out of is my sudden realization of the analogies with Jim’s last days and how I was helpless to help him. I loved her too because she was so attached to him; she sat by him and I have a photo of this but he looks so bad I don’t like to publish it. The last three days she was going back and forth in our hall caw, cawing. Then for 3 weeks or so sat in his chair; then she transferred her attachment to me.

    Not all cats have a central attachment; Ian is much more attached to me, but he was attached to Clary and is now attached also to Izzy. But she was a link to him as for your friend the cat was part of his memories and experiences of his wife.

  12. Linda: “I think what’s so appealing is that Ian is giving his sister a hug- a human display of affection that as humans we relate to. Anthropomorphize.
    Grooming her would be the real animal display I would think!

    I think Clary’s not eating or drinking was her sign to you. The last day of my black lab’s life she would not drink at all. She was dying of cancer. I was just in too much denial to realize that it was actually the end. Her death was probably the hardest to deal with. There certainly is an emptiness. A month later I brought home puppy Emma who was her second cousin. She lived to be 14 1/2. A long life for a lab. Now we have Annie. I will be dog walking for a long time!”

    Me: “Goodall makes a strong argument against the assumption seeing human traits in animals is misguided anthropomorphism. She says it’s correct instinct. To your second paragraph I am thinking of the last three nights how some of it she spent on my lap, We were simply together and in a way she knew it better than I.

    I will get kittens who are already trained for Christmas. At first they are very troublesome because they don’t sleep all the night but that passes. I’ll get two. They won’t replace her. I won’t forget her personality or her. But I like the house having living presences.

    For a dog I would have to feel confident I knew someone who I could leave him or her with if I had to go away or wanted to. A dog cannot be left alone. I know they require more “input” — more responsibility somehow but they are very there. I like animals. I’d like to have a dog again.

  13. Ellen, Clarycat was adorable! It is heartbreaking to take a cat in for euthanasia. I have sobbed uncontrollaby when one of my cats cannot defeat the disease. You would think as an experienced cat mom I could hold it together before I go home, but I simply cannot believe we will be separated,

    I am sure Clarycat was trying to stay alive for you. We have seen this many times. One of my cats slept under the covers with me during her last days. She may have been trying to keep warm, but slept on top of the covers before. I believe she was puzzled by her illness and wanted to be with me as closely as she could.

    Thank goodness you still have Ian. One thing I can advise since you miss her so much: adopt an older rescue cat. We have a couple of adorable older cats who needed a home and are very sweet.

    1. Yes I have been waiting for my older daughter to help me adopt a pair of kittens: I cannot cope with these websites with enterpreneurial foster mothers. I just don’t know where to begin. But I can find the animal shelter that’s nearest me and go there. A dog might frighten Ian and is such a responsibility. I had a dog once before. But a somewhat older cat might be perfect. Not yet. Thank you for supporting the idea she was staying alive for me. It hurt me to think she was suffering for my sake but all signs and remembrances of her love for me are so comforting now. I’ve been trying to buy a good print to frame it. I could not cope with photo sites but a friend offered to print a good copy another friend made and mail it to me. I’d like a picture of her in my workroom and my bedroom. I do have a beautiful black-and-white on the wall by the side of my computer. It’s larger than 8×11. I can see it all the time. Her expression on her face is typical — so grave 🙂 Ellen

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.