Sunday: A house of memories: Faure & Betjeman

Dear friends,

This morning I was thinking of all the beautiful music Jim loved and how he would listen to opera and concerts. Elgar’s Enigma Variations came to mind but I could not find a good YouTube without commercials attached! So here is one I like — it goes on in the YouTube for a bit too long, but it’s accompanied by pleasing impressionist paintings and it is the background theme for the 1979 Pride and Prejudice (to mark the passing of time):

Last night I succumbed to NPR’s continual pleading for money: it was the Romance album that got me, and David Ginder’s voice so I contributed for this year too and will get an album of music like this you are hearing if you clicked on the YouTube. I listen to NPR night and day, except when I put CDs into my Macbook Pro, where I’m beginning to listen to good novels once again.

He used to love the water in Southampton, took me for walks along the River Itchen one year:

River_Itchen_Ovington
River Itchen, Ovington

Here is Bejteman’s Summoned by Bells (the chapter on his childhood in Cornwall): Jim liked to walk along beaches for miles at stretch:

I ran alone, monarch of miles of sand,
Its shining stretches satin-smooth and vein’d. ~
I felt beneath bare feet the lugworm casts
And walked where only gulls and oyster-catchers
Had stepped before me to the water’s edge.
The morning tide flowed in to welcome me,
The fan-shaped scallop shells, the backs of crabs,
The bits of driftwood worn to reptile shapes,
The heaps of bladder-wrack the tide had left
(Which, lifted up, sent sandhoppers to leap
In hundreds round me) answered “Welcome back!”
Along the links and under cold Bray Hill
Fresh water pattered from an iris marsh
And drowned the golf-balls on its stealthy way

Over the slates in which the elvers hid,
And spread across the beach. I used to stand,
A speculative water engineer-
Here I would plan a dam and there a sluice
And thus divert the stream, creating lakes,
A chain of locks descending to the sea.
Inland I saw, above the tamarisks,
From various villas morning breakfast smoke
Which warned me then of mine; so up the lane
I wandered home contented, full of plans,
Pulling a length of pink convolvulus
Whose blossoms, almost as I picked them, died.
Bright as the morning sea those early days!

He also biked a lot as a boy; it was a way of getting away; he permanently injured his arm (he had steel plates in one of his elbows and by his late 50s arthritis so bad he couldn’t swim any more): from Summoned by Bells again, “Private School” where Betjeman bicylces through North Oxford:

The bindweed hung in leafy hoops
O’er half a hundred hawthorn caves,
For Godstow bound, the white road wound
In swirls of dust and narrow shaves,
And we were biking, Red Sea troops,
Between the high cow-parsley waves.

Port Meadow’s level green grew near
With Wytham Woods and Cumnor Hurst:
I clicked my Sturmey-Archer gear
And pedalled till I nearly burst-
And, king of speed, attained the lead
And got to gushing Godstow first.

The skiffs were moored above the lock,
They bumped each other side to side:
I boarded one and made her rock-
“Shut up, you fool,” a master cried.
By reed and rush and alder-bush
See soon our long procession glide.

There is a world of water weed
Seen only from a shallow boat:
Deep forests of the bladed reed
Whose wolves are rats of slimy coat,
Whose yellow lily-blossoms need
Broad leaves to keep themselves afloat.

A heaving world, half-land, half-flood;
It rose and sank as ripples rolled,
The hideous larva from the mud
Clung to a reed with patient bold,
Waiting to break its sheath and make
An aeroplane of green and gold.

The picnic and the orchid hunt,
On Oxey mead the rounders played,
The belly-floppers from the punt,
The echoes that our shouting made:
The rowing back, relaxed and slack,
The shipping oars in Godstow shade …

Once more we biked beside the hedge-
And darker seemed the hawthorn caves
And lonelier looked the water’s edge,
And we were sad returning slaves
To bell and rule and smell of school,
Beyond the high cow-parsley waves

summoned_bells_inside
A book he bought in a shop in Chicester in the 1990s. It conjures up the English physical world Jane Austen knew too and apparently loved … I shall scatter his ashes somewhere there (Torquay the dream).

I wrote this about memories and Summoned by Bells last February when I had an intimation he was ill.

A new local friend visited me here yesterday: I surmize she was startled by my house, a place of books, photos of Jim scattered around, his favorite painting: it may have seemed a shrine. At any rate she got out as soon as she could. I’ve seen this reaction before — when Jim was alive and well. So It’s not a shrine: its outward form and things are our inner lives together over nearly half a century. What have I but these memories? to live by. I shall never leave it if I can help myself. As long as I am here among our things I have not lost him altogether.

Time has stood still for me despite all the changes made in the house — by Caroline and then me forced to by the crashing of my computer. Yesterday as I looked about through the eyes of my visitor I saw it as a house of the past — my and his past but also my present and future too. I realized my friendship with this woman will be limited — she doesn’t understand. I did have another visitor when my good friend Kathy from the Net visited me — Kathy found nothing strange in the house; she was comfortable. The ex-chair of the English department lost her husband to lung cancer at age 59 (he never smoked a day in his life) and she sold everything — gave away all his papers to a library (at least she didn’t chuck them). I can’t imagine ripping all this away: I would die; I have Yvette here and Caroline not far but they are not my contemporary adult life in and for myself where I exist as an individual. Without this house and him, all that’s left of him that we built together, there’d be nothing left for me to live on or with or have any meaning from.

I can lose myself while I write and read – that is a help. I’m wanting to return to my movie project (a book) really on the basis that it would absorb me and cheer me to keep it up. It won’t mean what it would have — for I know how little books mean having published one except if you know of those who read and appreciated it — I might not have what it takes to get it published without him. But the writing of it would be good — I was disappointed over the JASNA rejection because I would have immersed myself in that telling myself it was towards the book.

This afternoon I shall betake myself to a film adaptation — you see my excuse — it adds to my knowledge — Invisible Woman, the film adaptation about Ellen Ternan from Claire Tomalin’s biography of Ternan’s life with Dickens (featuring Ralph Fiennes, Felicity Jones, Kristen Scott Thomas, Tom Hollander — favorite actors all). I do love these kinds of films, rich.

Sylvia

Author: ellenandjim

Ellen Moody holds a Ph.D in British Literature and taught in American senior colleges for more than 40 years. Since 2013 she has been teaching older retired people at two Oscher Institutes of Lifelong Learning, one attached to American University (Washington, DC) and other to George Mason University (in Fairfax, Va). She is also a literary scholar with specialties in 18th century literature, translation, early modern and women's studies, film, nineteenth and 20th century literature and of course Trollope. For Trollope she wrote a book on her experiences of reading Trollope on the Internet with others, some more academic style essays, two on film adaptations, the most recent on Trollope's depiction of settler colonialism: "On Inventing a New Country." Here is her website: http://www.jimandellen.org/ellen/ No part of this blog may be reproduced without express permission from the author/blog owner. Linking, on the other hand, is highly encouraged!

11 thoughts on “Sunday: A house of memories: Faure & Betjeman”

  1. I agree with you, no need to sterilize your house of his memory after 5 decades together. I’m glad you are comforted by his memory. Be well.

  2. I did fail to go to the movies. Demoralizing. I put this on facebook: Anyone of my friends or friends’ friends ever live in or around Alexandria, Va? and ever try to go to a movie in Shirlington? where are you allowed to park? I couldn’t find any place that said public parking? one garage for one floor was a mad house; everything else looked forbidding with signs of “private property.” One place promised 4 hours for payment but I couldn’t find the spots. I dislike most of the movies playing in most theaters; this one had Gloria, Inside LLewelyn Davis, Labor Day, Invisible Woman. I would have preferred Invisible Woman but could have seen any of them. Very disappointed and puzzled.

    A friend sent this:

    I searched for movie shirlington parking, and the result that came up was Yelp reviews for the AMC Loews there. Here is a link to the yelp page: http://www.facebook.com/l/EAQFwlMdJAQFrcwcsdVDugN7uHuwxm2XBbSv_YTpq0-TlUA/www.yelp.com/biz/amc-loews-shirlington-7-arlington
    Several of the reviews mention parking, some in a favorable way, and some unfavorably, which is confusing, I think, so I can see how a person would have a problem – when even people who have been there can’t seem to agree on parking. Anyway, good luck in the future. Sounds like this theater shows interesting films.

    Diane

    I replied:

    Thank you

    I see a couple of people complaining. The two garages mentioned: they don’t name them. I saw a couple of garages but there was no sign saying “public parking” here or any indication for sure I could park there. The one garage I knew of (the one the person referred to I suppose) was a mad house and it was not clear one could park on the upper floors. By the time I got out of there it was already late. I went to two others but in neither case was the garage clearly signed this was a place someone going to a movie could park in.

    Maybe I’m a coward but the intensity and numbers of cars in the one garage I went into (hardly room to turn the car) was worrying and I would not want to go in there again and was nervous to go into dark garages with no adequate signs

    It is a movie-house which shows precisely the sort of movies I want to see. I agree the auditoriums are not great but then most of the auditoriums in these movie-theaters I go to are no better. Hoffman (gigantic place, 12 plus theaters) is cleaner and neat and shows the HD operas, but its movies are awful.

    There’s a theater there too I’d like to buy tickets for sometimes so it was an experiment. A long time ago someone had this great idea of a place with sidewalks, an oasis of socialability with public space but it originally had large open parking lots which have since been built over with expensive buildings. It’s been too much of a success.

    I admit the experience depressed me. It made me feel terrible about myself. Who could endure this with equanimity?

    Jim has not been dead 4 months.

    Talk with Yvette over the day good; supper with her, she had Renee Fleming singing the national anthem and I realized Fleming managed to dominate and wow them. Next week we’ll see her in Rusalka – thank whoever there’s parking by the Hoffman.

    I’ll get through tonight by beginning a blog on Jane Austen’s letters, then watching Downton Abbey and Sherlock and then it’s 11:215, so to bed, read a bit (15 minutes), then a pill and oblivion through sleep. As the Sondheim song says, day by day … until it ends.

    1. Coda: I reached the theater manager by phone and he acknowledged the problem. He agreed there are no clear signs saying there is public parking in the two garages signs lead you to and that’s because it is so limited. He insisted there is free public parking on the 2nd and 3rd floors of the madhouse garage behind Harrison Tweeter but said yes on Sunday you might not find room.

      The site said the theater often has but 4 or 5 people at a movie. No wonder. How do they survive?

      I would like to see these movies and will try a Thursday afternoon; if that doesn’t allow me to find room on the 2nd and 3rd so-called free public parking floors, I’ll give up, but I do know know it’s not just me.

  3. Ellen, how could anyone not like your house! Books everywhere, comfortable furniture: I didn’t think it was at all “a shrine.” Heavens, this friend must have been a bit odd, or perhaps she was just in a hurry. I know nothing about 19th-century furniture, but perhaps it was a bit like being in a cozy house in a novel by Trollope or George Eliot!

    1. I am thinking I was unfair to her. I have no idea why she left the house so quickly and said she’d wait outside. She is not a woman who reads so maybe a house of books was strange to her, maybe she had not made herself as aware of me as a widow.

    2. I had a similar remark made by a friend of Mark’s. He couldn’t understand why I still had an oil portrait of Alan by his granddaughter. Before I could reply Mark said ” Alan was a good man helped her to become the woman she is, why would I want to remove his picture, we both love her. He’s no threat to me, just someone who cared for my Clare. I am grateful to him”. Some widows remove all traces of their former husband, it’s a strange phenomena. Death causes different reactions in folk. I think your shared home with Jim is a comfort, not a shrine.

      Clare

      1. Yes people react so differently. The ex-chair of the English department, now a woman in her early sixties lost her husband of 59 to lung cancer some years ago. (He never smoked in his life.) She told me she couldn’t bear to be in their house, and at the end of the traditional year sold it and everything in it, and gave away his papers and some of his many many books to a library that would take them.

      2. I think I am in Ellen’s camp. Our house is comfy and suited us. Mark is happy with it so there isn’t a problem

  4. It sounds melodramatic but I feel were I to lose this house, not live among these books and things all about me, I’d be naked to the world, utterly vulnerable with nothing between me and the winds that blow. The ex-chair I mentioned had a kind of amused tone when she said that she sympathized with my desire to see myself safe in such a house: maybe I do live in illusions, but without them concretely about me, I could not survive. I’d have such anxiety attacks I would not be able to breathe.

Comments are closed.