Still experiencing bad stress, though less so


My daughter, Laura, and her friend, Marnie, around age 14-15, waiting at the airport to go on a high school trip to France


Isobel, age 14

“I think we dream so we don’t have to be apart for so long. If we’re in each other’s dreams, we can be together all the time.” — Winnie-the-Pooh — I came across this this week. It made me remember Jim I rarely dream of him, but once in a long while I do. I have two copies of Winnie-the-Pooh, one in English, and one in Latin – the latter he bought for fun.

Dear friends and readers,

When Laura was 15, Izzy was 9, but I can find no photo of Izzy online at age 9, so I chose one of her at 14 to match the one of Laura and her friend. . I am impressed this week by how when we age, we must needs turn to our children. Marnie’s mother, less than 10 years younger than me is now living with Marnie as she is no longer able to live on her own.

I have not been able to get any truth or help out of Comcast about what I’m billed each month, or even a regular paper bill (what they want is for me to sign up for automatic payments!), nor can I figure out how to get into my online account (the people on the phone are apparently told they must not help the customer do this).  So Tuesday before or after Laura drives me to the Kaiser facility again, she’ll help Izzy and I get into that account, and set up electronic billing and then Izzy and I will be able to look at our account regularly.  You see Laura drove me to see a neurologist at Kaiser’s Tysons Corner facility this past week around 5 o’clock (when the sky was darkening) while Izzy stayed home, finishing her day’s work as a librarian.

Her driving me connects to this wretched election process in the US. I have in the last couple of weeks been sleeping much less; leading up to and until last night I was not able to sleep more than 3-4 hours a night, and that often only with sleeping pills. I was headachy, nauseous. So what happened is on the way home from the post office (I now drive my bills to the post office in the hope they will get to their destination in a more timely fashion, and have one step less to get lost) my mind slipped. For a couple of moments I was not there consciously, and then suddenly I was and disoriented. It took me a few seconds or more to realize I was driving on my own block, passing my house; I was going very slow (as I was 8 years ago when this happened for a slightly longer time) and so was able to make a U-turn into my car park.

I’ve now also talked with my regular doctor three times on the phone, and have decided for now I will drive much less, only small distances and try rarely to go alone (Izzy comes with me for shopping). I eliminated driving at night about two years ago now. He diagnosed this as another amnesia moment due to stress: he said I did not pass out but instead “lost time.” I’m still going to be tested for brief seizure (lapse in charges crossing my neurons) but he doubts that is what happened. I have a history of these in the 1980s when Jim would go away sometimes for 3 weeks for his job and there was no way we could phone, there was no internet, no mailing from these “top secret security” places. Laura was with me when these happened but she was around age 7-9 or so. Once I could not find our car in a car park, and my pragmatic daughter said “It is in this parking place, mom;” another time I amazed her by breaking into my own car using a hangar from a nearby cleaning establishment after during the lost time locking us out.

All this week to keep myself steady I have not watched the news at night. Last night for the first time I watched DemocracyNow.org (and the result may be seen in my Sylvia I blog; the results of watching PBS for the first time, Shields and Brooke may be seen in my comments to this blog). I find I cannot bear the thought of Trump seizing power because to him this would be a signal all he’s done is fine (and apparently for over 48 million people it is), so he would go further to terminate social security, fire civil service employees at will, go ahead to destroy the ACA, public school system, restrict liberty of movement and all information flow in the interests of making a fascist male white supremacist state. There has at least not yet been a violent coup, though Trump’s supporters have been violent in trying to stop counting in democratic areas.

I think I am accustoming myself to the idea that Trump could somehow still steal the election through the courts: voter suppression has helped him enormously (barriers of all kinds, gerrymandering, post office debacles). 40% of Americans are willing to have a dictatorship with a lying malicious criminal at the head of it. This is not the first time in the world an election has brought into power an profoundly harmful man known to be so (the four years in power include concentration camps at our borders, children separated from parents, put in cages, and even set adrift in countries where they have no relatives). It is hard to live with the knowledge that if not in the majority where I live, if in a minority, there are people all around me with such vile norms. I find myself guessing who they are — for they do not identify themselves in my urban centrist democratic open-society world.

It may sound unlikely when I say I am sleeping much better and much less tired today, all headache gone. But last night I slept 6 hours and have been calmer today. I admit I am cheered by the thought Biden may win and take the position of POTUS. I still worry lest Trump seize power: after all he has and uses illegally the space, place, and authority of the White House. That’s a terrific advantage:  he must be ejected

What I’ve written thus far is the event of this week that most mattered to use economically and in terms of what the atmosphere we live in will be like in the near (and if Trump wins) far future.  During the week I of course also read, wrote on the Net and notes, letters, postings, taught, attended classes, reading groups (all through zooms), and watched movies, wrote other blogs. The two classes I teach are going well.

*********************************

Does anything stand out as worth remembering in a diary? I saw the whole of Sondheim’s Passion online. Jim loved Sondheim’s work, and the man running the course I have been taking has sent us several URLs leading to whole performances of Sondheim online: I’ve seen Company, A Little Night Music, and now Passion. I felt the depiction of the disabled young woman compassionate and understanding (the opera is ultimately based on Tarchetti’s Fosca, a 19th century subjective novel told by a young woman crippled in some way and said to be ugly); I stayed awake for the whole production, mesmerized by the acting and scenes, and share here the song I most identify with:

In the course what was brought out was the importance of retrospection in Sondheim’s work: that a central theme for him is looking back at where we’ve been, and remembering how we got to where we are now. Another is the idea we are not alone (as in the to me wildly moving lyric from Into the Woods — available on Amazon prime), as in

No one is alone.
Sometimes people leave you
Halfway through the wood.
Others may deceive you.
You decide what’s good.
You decide alone.
But no one is alone.

To the other books I’ve talked of and read recently and keeping my remarks brief, I add (and am almost through) Bernadine Evaristo’s remarkable Girl, Woman, Other: the most moving stories about Carole, gang-raped at 13, who for safety listens to her teacher, Mrs King, makes it to Oxford and marries a kind rich young man; and that teacher herself, as Shirley and her rival teacher, Penelope.

Another new author for me: Katharine Fullerton Gerould’s Vain Oblations — a hostage-slave taking narrative almost unendurably painful when the male narrator finally reaches the white woman captured by Africans turned into a abject creature impregnated, tattooed all over, wearing what must be to her a mortifying dress, she manages to kill herself when found because to go back after such excruciating searing humiliation, beatings, the rapes …. I have read other such texts by women: 17th century captive narratives, Fanny Kemble’s diary of 2 years on a rich plantation worked by enslaved people in South Carolina. I went on to read a couple other stories in the volume (a ghost story, “On the Staircase”) and found she has a gift for abstract language done with wry allusive wit.

A new book I’m eager to open and read: Anne Stevenson’s Five Looks at Elizabeth Bishop: too late for my blog on Bishop and her poetry, each of the topics so well taken (Living with Animals, Time’s Andromeda, Geography) and lucidly written. Stevenson a favorite 20th century poet for me, she died recently. Her sensitive poem on Austen the best verse I’ve ever read on Austen

Re-reading Jane

To women in contemporary voice and dislocation
she is closely invisible, almost an annoyance.
Why do we turn to her sampler squares for solace?
Nothing she saw was free of snobbery or class.
Yet the needlework of those needle eyes . . .
We are pricked to tears by the justice of her violence:
Emma on Box Hill, rude to poor Miss Bates,
by Mr Knightley’s were she your equal in situation —
but consider how far this is from being the case

shamed into compassion, and in shame, a grace.

Or wicked Wickham and selfish pretty Willoughby,
their vice, pure avarice which, displacing love,
defiled the honour marriages should be made of.
She punished them with very silly wives.
Novels of manners! Hymeneal theology!
Six little circles of hell, with attendant humours.
For what do we live but to make sport for our neighbours
And laugh at them in our turn?
The philosophy
paused at the door of Mr Bennet’s century;
The Garden of Eden’s still there in the grounds of Pemberley.

The amazing epitaph’s ‘benevolence of heart’
precedes ‘the extraordinary endowments of her mind’
and would have pleased her, who was not unkind.
Dear votary of order, sense, clear art
and irresistible fun, please pitch our lives
outside self-pity we have wrapped them in,
and show us how absurd we’d look to you.
You knew the mischief poetry could do.
Yet when Anne Elliot spoke of its misfortune
to be seldom safely enjoyed by those who
enjoyed it completely
, she spoke for you.


Emilia Fox and Joanna David, real life mother and daughter, playing the 2nd Mrs de Winter, 18 years apart

Serious costume drama movie-watching these two weeks: I just finished the third of four movie adaptations of DuMaurier’s Rebecca. First, the 2020 just made, with, memorably, Lily James and Kristin Scott Thomas, but much changed from the book — to the film’s detriment. Then the superb 1997, with Charles Dance, Emilia Fox and Diana Rigg, written by the subtle scriptwriter Arthur Hopcroft. Last, the mesmerizing 1979, with Joanna David, Jeremy Brett, Anna Massey [the best of all the Mrs Danvers], directed by Simon Langton.  I’m waiting for the 1940 Hitchcock to arrive. I am even thinking of re-reading the book as I’ve become convinced my original reading where I saw the 2nd Mrs de Winter as heroine, the deeply kind and strong-within one, with the ending as basically a relieved escape from the world and a place gone evil from its inhabitant, Manderley — is the right one. Writing: my series of blogs on Outlander the fifth season.

A sad event: a recent friend, A (I’ll call her), just decided she doesn’t want to be friends any more — poof, like that — it’s another case of Liz Pryor’s What Did I Do Wrong: when Women Don’t Tell Each Other the Friendship is Over. Pryor seems to feel most of the time the person who is ending the friendship refuses to tell and won’t explain is it’s easier — they don’t want to face up to the hurt they are causing. A became defensive when I tried to discover why. One element is all have been women who have no trouble making friends, getting into new circles. OTOH, I visited my old friend, Mary Lee, sat on her lovely porch, in her house where she’s lived as long as I have in mine (over 35 years) and the two hours flew by as we caught up. For once I was not exhausted as I went home, just spent on good feeling.

I’ll end here as I don’t want to go to sleep too late, and have Simon Schama’s relevant Romantic and Us (is there no better name for these lectures in landscapes, with remarkable historical props than documentary?) to re-watch again.


Home from Trader Joe’s on Sunday


Ian in the sun

Ellen

Author: ellenandjim

Ellen Moody holds a Ph.D in British Literature and taught in American senior colleges for more than 40 years. Since 2013 she has been teaching older retired people at two Oscher Institutes of Lifelong Learning, one attached to American University (Washington, DC) and other to George Mason University (in Fairfax, Va). She is also a literary scholar with specialties in 18th century literature, translation, early modern and women's studies, film, nineteenth and 20th century literature and of course Trollope. For Trollope she wrote a book on her experiences of reading Trollope on the Internet with others, some more academic style essays, two on film adaptations, the most recent on Trollope's depiction of settler colonialism: "On Inventing a New Country." Here is her website: http://www.jimandellen.org/ellen/ No part of this blog may be reproduced without express permission from the author/blog owner. Linking, on the other hand, is highly encouraged!

6 thoughts on “Still experiencing bad stress, though less so”

  1. Dear PBS people,

    I cannot resist objecting to the inadequate and misleading statements of your two venerable (maybe they are getting too old and complacent) commentators tonight. Brooke left the impression that African-Americans and Latinos had voted in huge numbers for Trump. There was an increase in percentage, but the huge turnout was for Biden. Yes say 25% of hispanics became %28 for Republicans, but 28% of a huge number leaves a huge number for Biden; for black people it was an increase of 2% with the huge number going for Biden. True whites came out in huge numbers for Trump and many not the “base” (angry white working class males), super-rich or evangelicals or bigots, and that according to Brooke is a mystery. Is it? Is it not obvious they like Trump’s positions of far-right politics and don’t care about the pandemic or huge unemployment.

    Who is about to give Nevada and Arizona to Biden: hispanics. Who is about to give Georgia to Biden: black people.

    Shields suggested the democrats are still elite, swilling champagne and gourmet food. Did he listen to what was the message: health care for all, economic support and help from the gov’t, better schools, transportation, and tolerance tolerance tolerance for minorities and different views. In short social democracy and an open society. The troubling thing to say is whites were in big numbers against this

    Who gave vast areas in the impoverished middle west of the US to Trump: whites.

    White women came out in huge numbers for a man known to be serial rapist and abuser of women.

    It’s more than embarrassing to listen to nonsense. Since these people have respect and prestige, they influence viewers to take their views seriously.

    Were they afraid to say these truths? both said it is a divided nation but neither had the courage to say how or what was the content of this

    Ellen Moody

  2. “Keep going, even 12,000 miles away we are finding it stressful. Hope you feel relief soon. Catriona

    CEH”

  3. Answering questions from my diary blog and on Trollope&Peers about Sondheim. Someone said he too loved Sondheim. Jim did.

    I like the music and opera/musical/operettas too. So I took a course in his music at OLLI at AU this terms, 6 sessions. The teacher gave many URLS of song and music and documentary clips online. I have singled out just the complete performances and offer a couple of comments of my own on Sondheim (FW they are W):

    From Jim’s buying of books I have three wonderful books on/by Sondheim: two are called Finishing the Hat, and Look I Made a Hat! filled with the scripts, songs from his musical/operas/operettas in chronological order with his comments on how why what he did, background to work, surrounding everything and lots of photos. One is a good biography by Meryl Secrest (& Sondheim). Over the years of our marriage as soon as we had the money to go, we saw most of them, and several perhaps as many as three times

    So, just whole works on line:

    Very good, small-scale Broadway production of Company from 2006 with Raul Espraza as Bobby: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8fhW00fU1uQ

    Complete online gala held for Sondheim’s 90th – note that individual songs are indexed! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A92wZIvEUAw

    The FULL Follies cast album – but audio only – with song tracks: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YsnpoC0V520

    A Little Night Music: The 1991 NYC Opera production that includes the interview with Sondheim we saw is at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q8ZEboRaYhU

    Again, all of Passion: : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6M8pxgF2NbU (Do NOT Miss this one!)

    Into the Woods is on Amazon Prime and you can buy the DVD, Emily Blunt is the Baker’s wife

    Sweeney Todd there is a good DVD — teacher recommended the 1982 production on DVD

    HBO documentary “Six by Sondheim”: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PGkj3ljFGs8

    Over this fall by myself I’ve watched Company (it really is a bunch of songs), the Gala, A Little Night Music (the production online does drag), and Passion. I will try for Into the Woods within the next week or so and the HBO documentary. I’m not that keen on Sweeney Todd (it has great numbers oh yes) and don’t care for Follies, or Assassins; Pacific Overtures is soporific (makes me go to sleep). Jim loved Merrily We Go Along and the song, “Anyone can whistle.” We did see A Funny Things Happened on the way to the Forum at least 3 times, once a student production Laura was in.

    Sondheim’s central theme or perspective it seems to me is Retrospection: he is ever on about memory, and our past, not only our grief over the road not taken, but equal painfully poignant memories of the road we actually took. Another: no one is alone as well as how alone we feel, how hard to endure life’s journey in any case. The journey metaphor important. His shows are very ironic and highly emotional, often drenched in images from Anglo- high culture literature and plays.

    There is no particular connection with cats in Sondheim except Mrs Loveit used to make her pies “from pussycat” (oh dear) and I have a vague memory of characters owning a dog. I say this for the sake of Caturday

  4. It has been incredibly stressful to watch this election. I have also had bad nights sleeping and stomach and back pains, though am feeling back to normal now. I am hopeful for Biden, but appalled that so many people would still elect to follow a man who has no sense of civility, no desire to follow the US Constitution, and no desire to do his real job of protecting the American people by making real efforts to slow the spread of the virus. Thank God we have things like Sondheim and books to help us escape the national drama.

    Tyler Tichelaar

    1. I feel the same. I had hoped for a landslide based on understanding and concern over what has been happening (or not) since last March. It is further demoralizing to realize a sizable minority of the country (we have to remember gerrymandering and voter suppression has been going on) are willing (they think) to accept a dictatorship in order to impose on a majority of Americans a far-right-wing agenda where terrible things are inflicted on people. They assume these people are “other,” not them even when they are hurting in all sorts of ways right now. It’s an identity fixation.

      When your emotional distress causes physical symptoms, the fancy word is somatization.

  5. From Elaine Showalter: “Oh Ellin, Sondheim so consoling! This blog is lovely, dark , and deep. If you can write like this you are well. Xx”

Comments are closed.