Singing the Beatles: Norwegian Wood

TinaBlau_kanal_in_holland (Medium)
Tina Blau (1845-1916, Austrian landscape painter), A canal by the North Sea

Another of Izzy’s songs:

I fancy this is one of the Beatles’ less familiar songs so begin with the lyrics:

I once had a girl, or should I say, she once had me…
She showed me her room, isn’t it good, norwegian wood?

She asked me to stay and she told me to sit anywhere,
So I looked around and I noticed there wasn’t a chair.

I sat on a rug, biding my time, drinking her wine
We talked until two and then she said, “It’s time for bed”

She told me she worked in the morning and started to laugh.
I told her I didn’t and crawled off to sleep in the bath

And when I awoke, I was alone, this bird had flown
So I lit a fire, isn’t it good, norwegian wood.

Here is Izzy’s blog, where you can comment if you like. I’ve reblogged it too:

The original album cover:

David-Santy-Norwegian-Wood-This-Bird-Has-Flown-Cover
David Santy, The Bird Has Flown

Miss Drake

Author: ellenandjim

Ellen Moody holds a Ph.D in British Literature and taught in American senior colleges for more than 40 years. Since 2013 she has been teaching older retired people at two Oscher Institutes of Lifelong Learning, one attached to American University (Washington, DC) and other to George Mason University (in Fairfax, Va). She is also a literary scholar with specialties in 18th century literature, translation, early modern and women's studies, film, nineteenth and 20th century literature and of course Trollope. For Trollope she wrote a book on her experiences of reading Trollope on the Internet with others, some more academic style essays, two on film adaptations, the most recent on Trollope's depiction of settler colonialism: "On Inventing a New Country." Here is her website: http://www.jimandellen.org/ellen/ No part of this blog may be reproduced without express permission from the author/blog owner. Linking, on the other hand, is highly encouraged!

5 thoughts on “Singing the Beatles: Norwegian Wood”

  1. From Catherine Janofsky: “John Lennon setting fire in a girl’s bathroom. Isn’t it good, Norwegian wood? Beautifully sung.”

Comments are closed.